Visa Policy 2020

  1. Visa
  2. NVP 2020

Nigeria Visa Policy 2020



The Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS) has announced preparedness to commence the new visa policy announced by the President in February 2020. The new Nigeria Visa Policy (NVP) 2020 is aimed at specificity of visa classes and simplicity of the visa process for tourists, special skilled professionals, business investors and many others. It expands visa categories from the previous 6 main types to 79 classes divided into two policy groups - Visa-Free group with four (4) classes and Visa-Mandatory group under which there are three (3) main categories and seventy-five (75) visa classes. There is also a new Visa Fee structure in accordance with the new policy.


Visa Channels

The new visa policy identifies four (4) primary visa channels, each of which serves as a means to process a certain set of visa types to the convenience of the visa applicant. 


Visa Free Policy

The Visa Free or Visa Exemption policy applies to holders of travel documents that eliminates the need to go through rigorous visa application procedures in advance of visiting Nigeria. There are four classes of travelers in this group: 


  • F1A - ECOWAS Member States

    With regard to the ECOWAS/CEDEAO Free Movement Protocol, citizens of the fellow 15 Economic Community of West African States do not require a visa to enter Nigeria. This policy applies to travelers from Benin Republic , Burkina Faso , Cape Verde , Ivory Coast , Gambia , Ghana , Guinea , Guinea Bissau , Liberia , Mali , Niger Republic , Senegal , Sierra Leone , and Togo

  • F1B - Visa Abolition Agreement Countries

    Due to the Visa Abolition Agreement between Nigeria and other bordering Countries: Cameroon and Chad, citizens of the aforementioned countries can travel to Nigeria visa free under the F1B policy.

  • F1C - Visa Waiver for International Organizations

    Visitors with travel document from major International Organizations will be granted visa free entry from authorized air ports of entry into Nigeria. The organizations recognized by the Federal Republic of Nigeria include: the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the African Union (AU), the United Nations (UN), and the African Development Bank (AfDB).

  • F1D - Reciprocity Visa Waiver Agreement Countries

    Diplomatic and Official Passport Holders from countries with Reciprocity Visa Waiver Agreement with Nigeria may be eligible for Visa-free entry into Nigeria through authorised entry ports. As at October 2020, the countries officially listed under the F1D policy include:

    Kenya (Diplomatic Passport Only), Mauritius , Namibia , Rwanda , South Africa , Sudan , Tanzania

    Latin America:
    Brazil , Cuba , Venezuela

    Middle East:

    China , Singapore

Travel Documents from group F1A and F1B may obtain single entry visa on arrival at any immigration port of entry into Nigeria. For intending applicants under F1C and F1DVisa On Arrival (VoA) may be issued only at designated airports. Please contact the nearest Nigerian Consular Mission for advice. All visas issued under the Visa Free Policy are Single Entry for maximum duration of 90 days. 


Visa Mandatory Policy

This is applicable to citizens of all other passports that require visa to enter Nigeria. Passports Holders from this group desiring Short VisitTemporary Residence or Permanent Residence may apply for visa in advance of traveling to Nigeria. The categories are as follows:

Short Visit Visa (SVV) 

This category contains twenty-four (24) visa classes tailored to specificity of the traveler's purpose of visit and status, ranging from Tourist to Nigerian-born foreigner, to honorary consul to non-accredited diplomat and many more. Visas issued under this category permit a maximum duration of 90 days. Learn more...


Temporary Residence Visa (TRV) 

This category contains thirty-six (36) visa classes recommended for a range of travel purposes ranging from people who hold temporary work permits to accredited diplomats. The TRV is a multiple entry visa that may not exceed a duration of twenty-four (24) months or two (2) years. Learn more...


Permanent Residence Visa (PRV) 

This category contains fifteen (15) visa classes applicable to Spouse of a Nigerian Citizen, a senior dependant (aged 65 and above) of a PRV holder, rare talent or highly skilled worker, exceptional investor, or retiree. PRV policy is subject to periodic review. Learn more...


For all Residence permits, applicant may complete their visa processing at the Nigerian Visa Application Center (VAC) or Nigerian Consular Mission nearest to them. Official / Diplomatic Passport holders may apply directly at the Nigerian Consular Mission. Please contact the nearest Nigerian Consular Mission in your location for more information. 


Policy Implementation 

Implementation started on 1st October 2020 but certain aspects have been hampered by the CoVID-19 global pandemic. Consequently, the new policy is being implemented in phases in accordance with the permitted visa channels, starting with Visa on Arrival (VoA) which applies to passport holders from African Union Countries and available to a selected number of nationalities in four Short Visit Visa classes:

  • F4C - Business - Frequently Traveled Executives Visa (Multiple Entry)
  • F5A - Tourism Visa. 
  • F7K - Emergency/Relief Work Visa.
  • F9A - Returning Nigerian by Birth Visa.

The eVisa which further eases the application process for the Visa Mandatory group, was next to be implemented along with the rest of the visa channels. Please see new Visa Fees applicable to this new visa policy 2020, provided by the Nigeria Immigration Service.

Travelers who already obtained Nigerian Visas in the older visa categories can still enter Nigeria as long as their visa remains valid and as long as they are not restricted by new health policies. Similarly, travelers who have already entered Nigeria with the older visa types do not have to change their visas except at the point of renewal. For more details on the new Nigeria Visa Policy (NVP) 2020, please contact the Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS).