Visa Information

Nigeria Visa Information



The Nigeria visa is an endorsed permit to travel to Nigeria and/or stay in Nigeria for a specified period of time. The typical visa format is the visa stickers pasted on the page of the applicant's passport. The Nigeria Entry Visa itself is not an entry permit to Nigeria but is presented at the Immigration Checkpoint for approval of entry into the territory of Nigeria. 

Based on the latest Nigeria Visa Policy, the Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS) now offers a wide range of visas suitable for purposes ranging from short visit tourism to temporary residence study/work to permanent residence investment/retirement. Depending on the applicant's intended purpose in Nigeria, there are upto 75 different visa types/classes to match applicant's need.

In order to simplify the visa process for travellers, Nigeria has opened a variety of visa application channels including the Visa On Arrival (VoA) option and the new express e-visa which is printed out as a barcoded Electronic Travel Authorisation Letter (eTAL), a separate document from the Nigeria Immigration Service Portal eVisa System.

Visa obtained from the Nigeria Consular Mission or Visa Application Center has a validity period of 90 days during which you need to travel into Nigeria or re-apply. If appplicant obtains a visa through the eVisa System, they should enter Nigeria within 14 days of being issued the eTAL.


Visa Policies


Visa-Free Passports

Under the new Nigeria Visa Policy 2020 regime, some nationalities and officials are able to visit Nigeria for short-visit purposes without a visa. Official Travel Document (or Laissez Passer) holders from International Organizations like the UN, AU, ECOWAS Commission and AfDB may visit without a visa for up to 90 days under the F1C Policy, provided they meet other conditions for entry.

ECOWAS Member States

All valid passports from the following countries may be allowed entry into Nigeria for up to 90 days

Visa Abolition Neighbours 

Visa Waiver Agreement 

Official and Diplomatic passports from the following countries may be allowed entry for up to 90 days


Visa Categories

From 1st of October 2020 onwards, these new visa categories may apply.

Under the old Nigeria Visa Policy 2012, the visa types obtainable from Nigerian Embassies, High Commissions and Consulates around the world were as follows :

Some Nigerian Missions may still issue visas under the above visa policies. However, under the new Nigeria Visa Policy 2020 (NVP 2020), the above visa classes have been absorbed under three (3) broadened categories of the mandatory visa group as follows.. 


Visa Channels

  1. eVisa System 
  2. Visa on Arrival (VoA)
  3. Nigeria Consular Mission
  4. Visa Application Center (VAC)


Visa Instructions

Overview of requirements including documents and health protocol for entry into Nigeria


Visa Procedure

Step by Step process of obtaining a visa to Nigeria


Visa Prices

Click here for the current visa fees corresponding to the regular visa types provided by the Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS).

For visa fees corresponding to the new visa regime of Nigeria Visa Policy 2020, please click here.

Please note that all visa fees are paid directly through the NIS Portal


Visa Extension

How to extend your visa in Nigeria